Radius Circles from location

Im quite new to completing City Strides properly and have now got about 16% of my city done with dog walking. Mark Darlington's Map View - CityStrides

What would help more be efficient is someway of seeing what roads are outstanding within say 1 mile radius of ‘home’. I know I can use other sites for this but being able to go easily all here could be so good.

No idea how easy or expensive this is to do though.

1 Like

That’s called an isochrone, and there are some options for me to determine those values.

My current workflow without this feature is that I keep an eye on the distance display while using Route Builder. If I’m planning a remote neighborhood, I’ll map the path from my house to the neighborhood and then keep in mind while building the rest of the route that I have that distance to add at the end.
I build my routes from my view of the city page, so I’ve got my LifeMap displayed as an indicator of where I don’t need to travel to again.

I’m interested in what your expected workflow would be. Would you want to click the map to see a shape drawn on it, indicating the distance around you? Would you expect Node Hunter to be incorporated (a sort of “Node Hunter with a distance limitation”)?

2 Likes

Thanks James.

I dont use route builder at all and most of my walks are 2-3 miles at a time. So im not looking for a say a 10 mile route planned.

I would like to open the map with node hunter opened and then add ‘layer’ at a known distance. So I can then see what nodes I have left to collect in that area.

I do like the idea of node hunter within x miles of my location as that would achieve the same thing for me which is getting those nodes closest to home.

Thank you

Piggybacking -
I’ve also thought about this (and had commented on similar threads) and will be upvoting this one. It’d work for me to have an icon to overlay a large circle on the map (like below).