Question about missing city spreadsheet

One comment I see, often, in the spreadsheet, is no border (or boundary) in OSM. Is this an OSM edit anyone can do? If so, I’d be willing to give it a try for the (two) places I added.

@tkajstura I’m also unsure what this means :smile:

1 Like

I’m no OSM expert, but in my area, there was a town that was only a node, no border. I had to combine a set of OSM “ways” to make the border in what OSM calls a “relation”.

What to put into the “relation” to classify it is above my pay grade, and seems to be a matter for debate even among those who frequently edit OSM.

It also turns out if I were better at OSM, the relation for that local town actually existed in the past and someone deleted it by accident - those good at OSM kind find those sorts of things and “undelete” them.

1 Like

When I write “no border/boundary in OSM” on the missing city spreadsheet it means there are no ways (the OSM term) that can be used to make a functional boundary for the city. New data will have to be brought into OSM before anything can be done on the CS side. I do a lot of looking before I write this, because as @jpbari points out sometimes the data is there and just not labeled. A boundary in OSM doesn’t have to be a relation, and there’s really not a lot of debate over what to label relations and classifications so much as a lot of misunderstanding as it’s really confusing and region dependent.