Private street shouldn't be on list?

Via de Salerno is a street within a private gated community in Pleasanton California.
Should that street be taken off the Pleasanton street list?

1 Like

Hi @mbrill, you can go edit the street in OSM (https://www.openstreetmap.org) which is where CityStrides pulls its data from. You probably will need to make an account first to edit.

For a private street, you can edit the street (or just a section of the street) to be like this:

Then, about once a month, all cities in CityStrides should get updated from OSM, and you should see that road deleted from Pleasanton.

2 Likes

Meghan Thompson’s activity on December 26, 2022 - CityStrides

This is my first time trying to edit a private street. I found Mike’s Pleasanton post and the response from Joey…so here it goes.

I posted my run from yesterday (above), where I ran up to the gate on Maple Canyon Road, and there are nodes on both sides…so I want to keep the ones that I hit and mark “private” the ones that I did not. I signed up for OpenStreetMap, per the link in Joey’s email. I took the website lesson.

I cut the street at the node that I believed to be near the gate,
highlighted the chopped part of the road
Changed the sections for Allowed Access to “Private” in all sections (the first time I did not do this, but I edited and fixed it to this)
Saved for the second time.
Made a comment that the road was closed.

Changeset: 130570815 | OpenStreetMap

Hope that I did it correctly!

Thank you!

PS - Mike, thanks for taking the time to edit Pleasanton…I am working on Livermore right now, but plan to get to Pleasanton, when I’m all done :slight_smile:

One other thing I would recommend doing is changing that point where you split it to a gate. It’s just a little more info that could be helpful to add.

Also just changing the top access tag to private like in Joey’s picture above is enough.