Fixing street double count

On a recent run I had an idea of how to resolve the street double-counting problem. I am not a database expert, so maybe there is something obviously wrong with this approach that makes it unworkable. If this idea is bad, hopefully better ones will emerge through Cunningham’s Law :smile: . Aside from the synching stuff, I think the lack of comparability of strider stats due to double counting is one of the main issues on the site, so I’m curious to hear everyone’s thoughts!

The idea is to add a level to the current Country->Region->City->Street->Node structure, turning it into Country->Region->City-> SubCity ->Street->Node.

In the new hierarchy, the City level would be similar to the current Region level, in the sense that it would contain a number of SubCities. The way to implement this would be to turn all existing Cities into SubCities of themselves, such that for each City SubCity0 is essentially the city itself. Additional SubCities can then be added as required, like it is possible to add Cities to Regions currently. Importantly, the City would take street completion data from SubCity0 only, and City level data would continue to be used for any reporting on a macro level.

For example, Manhattan and Manhattan Community Board 1 are currently causing double counting.

The structure is:

USA->NewYork->Manhattan
USA->NewYork->Manhattan Community Board 1

This would turn into:

USA ->NewYork->Manhattan->

1. Manhattan
  2. Manhattan Community Board 1

The pros:

• The processing of streets would stay unchanged
  • Double counting is eliminated, since only streets completed in SubCity0 (ie. the city itself) are counted toward runner totals. All street count figures become comparable; as do leader boards
  • Each SubCity can have its own completion stats and leader boards, since processing etc. is the same as it is for cities currently