Dark Mode for Supporters

I’ve already released this feature to Supporters, but I want to add this Ideas post to capture feedback. This is my first attempt at a dark mode implementation, so I’m sure I’ve done something wrong/unideal in all sorts of places. :sweat_smile:

This will be a Supporter feature that adheres to your system settings. If your OS is set to light, you’ll always have the light theme … If it’s set to dark, you’ll always have the dark theme … and if it’s set to Auto, it will automatically toggle back and forth with your system.

This also includes a new dark map style, which automatically toggles back and forth with everything else.

My OS is set to dark, but I would like to have my CityStride map light without changing my OS setting :grin:

Could it be possible to select this in City Stride setting ?

I feel the map is way to dark if there is light around me :grin:

17 Likes

I agree with Stéphane. I like dark mode for the website backgrounds, but not for the maps where color-coding is so important (blue areas for water, green areas for vegetation, and more). I’d like to keep the dark mode for the overall website, but have the ability to switch the map back to normal mode. Thank you!

Scott

10 Likes

I agree with both Stephane and Scott.

5 Likes

My OS setting is light and I am still getting this dark setting which I do not want at all.

Edit: It is dark mode on Firefox but lightmode on Chrome.

3 Likes

This is interesting feedback!
In my experience while building out the dark mode version, I felt that the entire effort was a complete waste without a darker map to pair with it. The brightness of the map paired terribly with the darkness of the site.
I’m left to wonder if my dark map style is just bad (honestly :sweat_smile: it probably is!) or if it does make sense to have a bright map with a dark site.

I’m going to review the map situation based on this feedback, though.

2 Likes